BJP now leads in Rampur, Azamgarh LS bypolls


Lucknow, June 26 : In a fiercely contested election for the Lok Sabha bypolls, the Samajwadi Party is now trailing both in Rampur and Azamgarh. After five hours of counting, the BJP has pulled ahead of SP, which initially led both the constituencies. Rampur and Azamgarh have been SP strongholds and while the Azamgarh seat was vacated by Akhilesh Yadav, who won the state Assembly elections, the Rampur seat was similarly vacated by Mohd Azam Khan. In Azamgarh, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate, Shah Alam a.k.a. Guddu Jamali, had already amassed over 1 lakh votes, which has impacted Samajwadi Party's Dharmendra Yadav. Jamali is trailing at third position. The two constituencies voted on June 23, with Azamgarh recording a turnout of 49.43 per cent and Rampur 41.39 per cent. In Rampur, the BJP had fielded Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi, who recently joined the party. Asim Raja, handpicked by Azam Khan, is the Samajwadi Party candidate. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) did not contest from the Rampur seat. /IANS


Instead of housing Rohingyas, deport them: VHP on Union Minister's remark
[**EDS: TO GO WITH STORY** New Delhi: Kabir Ahmed showes his UNHCR ID card at the Rohinya refugee settlement area in Kalindi Kunj, New Delhi, Wednesda

Veer Savarkar flex row: Ruling BJP, Congress indulge in war of words
Bengaluru, Aug 16 : The leaders of ruling BJP and opposition Congress in Karnataka have indulged in bitter war of words over stabbing incident and sag

Toxic, radioactive waste moved from Japan's Fukushima amid protests
Tokyo, Aug 16 : The chemical waste, that is extremely high in carcinogens and stored near Japan's disaster-hit Fukushima nuclear power plant, was move